Eken Magazine
Articles

STOCKHOLM
FOOD & DRINK
REVIEWS

 

REVIEWS - Eken Magazine

 


 

LISTED A – Z + Ö

ALLSTAR SPORTSBAR. TORSGATAN 10. JULY 2014
CLOSED DOWN.
Allstar Sportsbar list themselves as a modern steakhouse serving Junk Food De Luxe. But frozen hockey pucks as burgers are long gone, especially when they are on the same price level as all the real burger houses popping up all over Stockholm. Allstars friendly service, free popcorn from their own popcorn-machine, cool sports decor, with screens and booths set out over the tracked floor doesn´t make up for the over priced junk food. It hardly justifies to make up for an alright place to hang-out with your mates to watch some sports and have a beer, because then you want some good deals on offer with reasonable prices in line with being an average sports bar that Allstar lack. Burger, chips and a beer will cost you around 200SEK. To expensive, to impersonal and the quality of food is to low. This place does not offer it, and for them to last I think they need to upper their offers, quality and menu.


1 STARS - Reviews - Eken Magazine

ALLSTAR SPORTSBAR Stockholm - Stockholm Burger Guide + Reviews - Eken Magazine Stockholm Food & Drink Reviews + Listings

BAR BROOKLYN. HORNSTULLS STRAND 4. NOVEMBER 2014
I expected so much more from this self claimed New York institute suited in the popular hipster area of Hornstull, Stockholm. I chose the All American bacon burger for 155SEK with the chips and dip included in the price. After waiting for over 30 minutes the burger arrived and we found out that this burger is bigger than usual and apart from it being a pretty sloppy experience while trying to eat it, nothing on the plate stood out as being anything special. From the beers on draught you could only choose from the classic Brooklyn Lager, Brooklyn IPA or from their uninviting guest tap. I went for the Brooklyn Lager, but had to change it for a Brooklyn IPA because it was off. If I give them another go, which would be a huge gamble, I am tempted to try their 400g burger for 222SEK, which is a mix of double burger, double bacon, double pulled pork & onion rings. I am not sure if they were just slow starters as we arrived just when they opened, but a place of the standard they claim, you would expect that everything would be on top of its game from opening including a better selection of beers on tap. On the positive note, they had a friendly bartender and the Swedish band Billy Momo performed an a amazing gig.



bar_brooklyn_debaser_stockholm_eken_nagazine_whats_on_stockholm_listings_burger_review

BAR BURGER CAFÉ. KUNGSTRÄDGÅRDSGATAN 18. SEPTEMBER 2014
Interesting combo, but turned out to be a dry experience. We went for the mixed bacon and chicken hamburger.  It was served with a very watery and vinegary Guacamole sauce with the chicken being very dry. On the plus side they had a friendly and aware service. With all the promotion and the owner´s statements, I was hoping for a better executed burger. Burger, shared fries and a beer each cost us 231SEK a head.


0 STARS SCORE - REVIEW EKEN MAGAZINEBAR BURGER CAFÉ Stockholm - Stockholm Burger Guide + Reviews - Eken Magazine Stockholm Food & Drink Reviews + Listings

BIRKA BURGERS & BEERS. RÖRSTRANDSGATAN 11.
NOVEMBER 2014 + AUGUST 2015

Birka Burgers and Beers opened their doors as the first burger bar in Birkastan. There is nothing original about the place, you get the feeling that keeping costs down has been the main focus through out the whole set-up from the decor to the food. Even with spelling mistakes on the menu.Upon entering your hit with how loud the noise is and how bad the acoustics are, it didn´t help when we got seated to the long sharing tables, where you literally sit on each others lap. Brilliant idea if your a group of mates out for burgers and beers and don´t mind knowing in detail what the person sitting next to you are talking about and have on their burgers. After squeezing into are seats between the other dinner guests and after a few awkward comments from the waitress we ordered the Cheeseburger (97SEK), the Bacon & Cheese Hamburger (107SEK) and we shared the Original Fries (28SEK) with a tasty Cheddar Dip Sauce to go with it from the very friendly waiter Robin. The chips and dip we´re one of the best Ive tried in a long time, and the burger was decently made though it was lacking seasoning and melted cheese. With better quality products and more experienced service Birkastans one and only burger joint could be here to stay.

I went back and tried their Jalapeño Cheeseburger (spelt Jalapeno Cheesburger on their menu) and it was alright. Nice with some heat with the Jalapeños giving it some sting, but is was nothing special at 109SEK.



Burgers & Beers Stockholm - Stockholm Burger Guide + Reviews - Eken Magazine Stockholm Food & Drink Reviews + Listings

BISTRO BURGER. GÄSTRIKEGATAN 3. JUNE 2014
I cannot think of anything good under my visit to another burger craze joint! My partner could not even finish off her burger. After just trying Flipping Burgers for the first time this place is just an outright rubbish copy of the very popular hamburger spot. The menu and prices are nearly exactly the same, but without the creativity of various burgers. These guys just change a cucumber for a jalapeño and they think they got a completely new burger.
How they get so much press is beyond me.


0 STARS SCORE - REVIEW EKEN MAGAZINE
Burger Bistro Stockholm - Stockholm Burger Guide + Reviews - Eken Magazine Stockholm Food & Drink Reviews + Listings

BRASSERI NORRTULL. ST ERIKSGATAN 119. OCTOBER 2014
LUNCH. Apart from the vegetarian dish, the weekly salad and the two different wraps that are on offer you can also choose between two main dishes. One being fish to mirror the more heavy dishes of meat and pastas, Brasseri Norrtull have something for every stomach. The kitchen is trying variations of serving salad, and this time around you get a prepared bowl of fresh green salad. Brasseri Norrtull´s lunches are much more towards the high-end section that’s on offer around Stockholm and it costs you less than 100 SEK at only 98SEK. This is a great place to have your business meetings, or if you want to treat yourself or someone to a more classy lunch.
DINNER. After trying out there new Wine club we stayed for dinner with a couple of other attendees from the wine tasting. Lisa went for the Plat du Jour of the day for 150SEK, being haddock with fresh potatoes. While Pete went for the waiters recommendation – Steak Minute served with herb-butter and roasted vegetables for 195SEK. After the white wine tasting I wanted to try out a better fit to go with this classic meat dish and opted for a lovely Da Vinci Chianti Riserva 2010. I swirled all that down with a Bistro Lager from Swedish Brewery Spendrups to for fill trying out all what is on offer at Brasseri Norrtull. Sometimes a classic Swedish lager is a perfect fit with its traditional more roasted taste.
WINECLUB. A nice hour long free social event where attendees stayed and chatted afterwards. Some of us stayed and dined together. Apart form just socialising it gave opportunities to get more tips and new ideas about wine.


4 STAR REVIEW SCORE - EKEN MAGAZINE

 

brasseri-norrtull-stockholm-review-recension-eken-magazine

NORRTULL HOTEL & BRASSERI: REVIEW

BROT. ODENGATAN 43. OCTOBER 2014
Stone Oven Bakery & Tapas patisserie Brot Stockholm offers a various selection of various breads, buns, bakeries, cakes and other sweet delicacies. I love their little “6 for 100SEK deal”, where you choose your own mix of six little sweet tapas patisseries.


3 STARS - REVIEW SCORE - EKEN MAGAZINE

DENNIS KÖTT. SPÅNGA TORG. OCTOBER 2014
I jumped in to the EkenMobile and drove out to northwest suburb Spånga to try Dennis´s lunch BBQ together with my little brother Eddie. This deli has been running for 25 years and offers home made mixes, relishes and sauces to go with all their meats that they grind, dry hang and cook themselves. On offer you also find various meat-boxes to order, a sausage school and a catering section. We went for the mix grill for 80kr (+ 15kr for a can of soda), where you unfortunately only got two of the four meets on offer included. One piece of souvlaki and one patty on a pretty dry piece of pita bread served with some fried onions and aioli that didn’t really make the journey out there worth while.
+ Freshly cooked, good service, in-house made products.
Bit pricey for such a small portion of food.


dennis_kött_spånga_eken_magazine_review_recension

DIVAN | DHARMA. VALHALLAVÄGEN 153. NOVEMBER 2014
Formally known as Diwan. Dhamra is a price worthy Indian/Persian restaurant in a nice, snug and cosy environment with an aware and pleasant service. For a higher score I wouldn´t mind more seasoning so the tastes and flavours flourish more.


3 STARS - REVIEW SCORE - EKEN MAGAZINE

EL CIELO. FLEMMINGGATAN 22A. NOVEMBER 2014
El Cielo focuses on the South American Cuisine with a good mix of friendly service, tasty food, sizeable portions, great prices topped off with an appealing menu. We were a group of six and we tried a good selection of the menu and nobody was let down, actually the exact opposite, everyone just kept praising the well cooked delicious food!  You definitely have to taste their starter; Fried Chevré Cheese on Toast served with Rocket Salad, Roasted Almonds & a Mango Chili Sauce before letting loose on one of their yummy steaks. You will NOT leave this place without a full belly and smile on your face, Marja will make sure of that. I am definitely going back soon and will probably go during their After Work, with first sight on their Argentinean style burger and a beer for just 148SEK!

4 STAR REVIEW SCORE - EKEN MAGAZINE

el_cielo_review_recension_eken_magazine_whats_on_stockholm_listings

FLIPPIN BURGERS. OBSEVETORIELUNDEN 8.
JUNE 2014 + AUGUST 2015

The first and most original burger place in Stockholm. They serve good decent tasty hamburgers with friendly service. Flippin Burgers put a lot of energy and pride in to their ingredients, cooking techniques and service. I wouldn´t mind my burger bigger, single burgers are 150g and their double burgers are 2 x 100g. Like many other burger joints in Stockholm, the burgers are a wee bit small for my liking at that price. Nothing special with their fries and dips. But their milkshakes and floats are real good. Pretty decent selection of beers with a couple of ciders, wines and booze on the menu. Score is mostly based on the taste of the burger and their good friendly service. Get their in time so your not waiting in line for ages as they don´t do bookings. Take Away is ordered on spot.


4 STAR REVIEW SCORE - EKEN MAGAZINE

Flippin Burgers Stockholm - Stockholm Burger Guide + Reviews - Eken Magazine Stockholm Food & Drink Reviews + Listings

>>> REVIEW: BEST BURGERS IN STOCKHOLM <<<

 

GÜNTHERS. KARLBERGSVÄGEN 66.
OCTOBER 2014 + April 2015

My absolute favourite is a double Türinger with sauerkraut, strong mustard and chili sauce. Combine that with the Swedish classic chocolate drink, Pucko and your on to a winner with a warm and full belly for under 100SEK.

5 STARS SCORE REVIEW - Eken Magazine

ITAMAE SUSHI & GRILL. LANDSVÄGEN 33.
AUGUST 2015

For 99SEK you get one of the best burgers around. Served with two beautifully yummy minced patties Itamae style with caramelised red onion and cheese, served with yummy fries and an amazing truffel mayonnaise. One of the best burgers I´ve eaten in Stockholm, and actually ever. No complaints at all and no changes are needed. The pleasant service and open air decks with the out-door seating just makes it a really chilled and cool place to hang-out at. Fancy that hey, a sushi place serving the best burger around town with burger joints opening up all the time since 2012.


5 STARS SCORE REVIEW - Eken Magazineitamae-sushi-grill-sundbyberg-review-recension-eken-magazine

KOFFIE. RÖRSTRANDSGATAN 25. SEPTEMBER 2014
CLOSED DOWN.
I´ve only tried the breakfast yet, as it has been closed when we have tried to visit earlier. But know they are extended their opening times we have went by for breakfast on a couple of occasions. I would probably visit more if your belly felt a bit more satisfied and full. Priced at 49SEK for a small sandwich and coffee. Though I must say that it tastes really good and fresh, and seems to be quality products with their main focus being on healthy fresh organic eco friendly raw food. This caf has a nice decór with a warmth.


3 STARS - REVIEW SCORE - EKEN MAGAZINE

KÖTTBAREN. DROTTNINGGATAN 89. OCTOBER 2014
I have been a few times and I ve got mixed feelings about the place. Some times you get good friendly educated service and some times pretty much the opposite. You get good tasty quality meat with a price tag that goes with it, sometimes they will have an offer or two on. Like the last time I visited (October 21st 2014) I got some different beef cuts for 150SEK/KG and the service was decent. Back in August I went by for some meat to put on the bbq and chose a couple of Ribeye Steaks á 350SEK/KG. I wanted to buy more, but the service was so poor I was put off. First I wasn´t even being acknowledged of all the staff right in front of me, and when I did get someones attention they were clueless as they could´nt answer my simple questions about their meats and sauces. It really brings down the whole image and quality stamp of the place, especially being part of the popular GRUPP F empire, and when all the staff is running around in white capes trying to look the butcher part. Thing about Butchers, is that they are experts on all things to do with meat. Pretty understandable it still seems to be a popular inner city place with a cool decór and feel to hang out for the hipsters and meat lovers. During 2015 they also opened up the Fish & Meet Bar on Vasagatan.


3 STARS - REVIEW SCORE - EKEN MAGAZINE

köttbaren_restaurant_resturang_charkeri_butchers_eken_magazine_review_recension

KÄK. HORNSBRUKSGATAN 24. AUGUST 2014
Nice little fast food a la burger joint by Swedish Rapper Petter and popular nearby restaurant and bar Judith & Bertil, owned by Dimitris “Dimman” Anastasopoulos and Oskar Jakobsson with some good friendly service to it. The concept is built on their famous Wednesday nights, where they brought in variations of Street Food under the name KÄK with Petter and his family being one of the locals at this hip-hop packed bar. I am struggling a bit with their claims that KÄK (food in English) are not a burger joint, but a fast food place and don´t compete with anyone. With only burgers on offer and competing for the best burger award place in town it makes you wonder what identity they are trying to aim for? But we went their for the grub only, and with their own Shut-Up-Burgers (Håll Käften Burgare – HKB) you get a selection of five burgers to choose from. Three of them are all cheese and meat combos and two of them are specials, where one special is a veggie burger called Ms Dixon´s Shroom Burger and the other one a mixed veggie and HKB burger. I went for a double cheese, bacon and onion priced at 129SEK (95SEK for a single), while Lisa went for the original cheeseburger for 89SEK. We shared a portion of fries at 30SEK with their homemade truffle-sauce for an extra 5SEK. Lisa chose the strawberry milkshake (60SEK) and I the chocolate milkshake (55SEK), and these milkshake are yum, one of the best ones I’ve ever tasted. A little tip is that you can share the fries and a milkshake between you. You get so filled up you risk bellyache for over doing it. Being a bit confusing, a bit overpriced and with the risk of being a copycat they don´t reach the top score yet! For the time being when in Hornstull I will stick to Judith & Bertil.


3 STARS - REVIEW SCORE - EKEN MAGAZINE

 

 

KÄK Stockholm - Stockholm Burger Guide + Reviews - Eken Magazine Stockholm Food & Drink Reviews + Listings

LAIKA. HORNSHUSET. NOVEMBER 2014
Stockholm’s new creative hang-out lounge bar with high-end service and food is a well awaited addition to Stockholm. Focusing on food, drinks, music and art, Laika has an international touch to it all. Payman Dehdezi, Patric Andersson and Ida Lantz with bartenders Pete McDonnell and Freddie Jidlow make sure you´re feeling very comfortable and relaxed while enjoying some wickedly good cocktails and well made food. With a modern outtake on the whole set-up as well as their menu, you can pick and choose between tapas size dishes of your choice. All with an ecological street food focus to it. After a well presented menu by Pete and with everything sounding good we went for a bit of everything. In came the Pulled Pork Taco and Fish Taco with Horseradish, and Laika´s well-seasoned juicy Eliza Guerra Mini-Burgers with onion rings were so tasty we ordered them in a second time. I can´t wait to get back to eat more of their well cooked food, splash down some yummy well crafted cocktails while just chilling and hanging-out with my friends at this pleasant playful funky living room bar. If they keep this up they will be the number one place in Stockholm very soon and will have the five stars to show it.


4 STAR REVIEW SCORE - EKEN MAGAZINE
LAIKA_MAT_DRINKAR_MUSIK_KONST_EKEN_MAGAZINE_WHATS_ON_STOCKHOLM_LISTINGS_FOOD_DRINK_MAT_DRYCK

LILYS BURGER. HORNSBERGSTRAND 47. OCTOBER 2014
Hollywood superstar Joel Kinnaman and his Snabba Cash (Easy Money) co-star Mahmut Suvakci opened up Stockholm’s second hamburger venue after Flippin Burgers were first to it. Seems like these acting restaurateurs are building a little burger empire as they have also opened up a new Lily´s Burger at Nytorget in the hipster trendy SoFo*. On the menu you can find The Good, The Bad and The Ugly burgers. Spicy Chicken Wings with the recipe made by top American TV chef Dante and prepared by Lily´s Burger chefs Jonas Herrman and Adnan Aykal. Chimp combos, sauces, milkshakes, soft drinks, beers and a shelf of imported American snacks and sweets are also on offer. I went for the classic one and it had more of a mince texture to it and a slight differ in taste to what you expect in a normal hamburger. I really enjoyed it, giving me a different hamburger experience compared to the others. I went for their normal fries that were yum and ordered cheddar sauce to the side that was a bit lumpy. Really no need to order extra dip sauce, as their garlic dip that is on every table together with your ketchup, mustard and hot-sauce is delicious. Ill be back to try their wings and milkshakes, as well as working my self through all of their burgers. *SoFo has just been voted the third coolest place in the world by Vogue.


4 STAR REVIEW SCORE - EKEN MAGAZINE

Lily´s Burger Stockholm - Stockholm Burger Guide + Reviews - Eken Magazine Stockholm Food & Drink Reviews + Listings

LÅNGA RADEN, VELAMSUNDSGÅRD, SALTSJÖ-BOO. SEPTEMBER 2014
Tucked away in Varmdö, surrounded by Saltsjö-Boo and Gustavsberg, facing Lidingö and Vaxholm you will find this lovely destination in the outskirts of Stockholm located in the middle of Stockholm’s archipelago. Nacka´s popular Velamsundsgård nature reserve offers lovely walks and outdoor activities surrounded by beautiful breath-taking settings. After a lovely walk we treated ourselves to a nice sit down and enjoyed a traditional Swedish classic dish; a hand peeled shrimp sandwich (145SEK) with a cold Czech pilsner (62SEK) while the sun glazed over us at Restaurant Långa Raden. This venue is open all year round, and looks like a great place to experience a true Swedish traditional “Julbord” – a Swedish “smörgåsbord” of all winter classics. Great location with stunning views and a calming atmosphere.

LÅNGA RADEN, VELAMSUNDSGÅRD, SALTSJÖ-BOO


4 STAR REVIEW SCORE - EKEN MAGAZINE

LÅNGA RADEN, VELAMSUNDSGÅRD, SALTSJÖ-BOO_recension_review_eken_magazine

MAX HAMBURGERS. SEPTEMBER 2014 + JULY 2015
Classic Swedish fast food restaurant that has revived themselves the last decade and grown to be the best and most popular fast food joint in Sweden. With an aggressive plan the last few years to grow international and now launched in Dubai. With the best service, burgers, cheddar sauce and chilli cheese, Max has over taken McDonalds and Burger King with their Swedish produced meat and detailed carbon outlet on the menu. But now with all these burger restaurants opening up all over Stockholm, I think MAX have competitors they probably were not thinking of a few years back. For me they are struggling to compete with these new independent burger joints for the best burger, but while driving on the long country roads of Sweden – Max is the fast food chain of my choice. They have released new country fries, brioche bread and burgers and put a lot into tv advertising to compete.


MAX Hamburger Stockholm - Stockholm Burger Guide + Reviews - Eken Magazine Stockholm Food & Drink Reviews + Listings

O´LEARYS. SUNDBYBERG.
MAY 2014 + AUGUST 2015

Not been to this restaurant franchise chain for ages. Back in the day O’Learys use to be the place to be for burger and beers in town. Now that was about ten years ago and it goes to show how things and time changes. Even O`Learys flagship restaurant in Slussen has been closed down a few years now with no new tenant. But back to the burger, I popped in to watch the footie with a mate and even though I got the wrong burger to what I ordered, though it´s was a pleasant spicy surprise. The Crispy Chicken Fingers were not what I was hoping for and they were a bit dull, especially if you´re after a more fried chicken experience. The sharing platter could do with more mozzarella sticks and cheese shooters to go with the load of nachos. All in all it is a nice place to hangout at for some beers and grub with a good friendly atmosphere while watching your sports. Big plus for the well planned lay-out with screens all over the restaurant and the pleasant service.
I´ve been back several times to watch the footie and the standard is always the same leaving you with a safe bet, knowing what your going to get.


3 STARS - REVIEW SCORE - EKEN MAGAZINE

O´LEARYS Stockholm - Stockholm Burger Guide + Reviews - Eken Magazine Stockholm Food & Drink Reviews + Listings

PHILS BURGER GÄRDET. SANDHAMNSGATAN 1. OCTOBER 2014
I have wanted to try this one out for a while now. Promoting themselves as a more luxurious place with a more minimal Scandinavian décor and far away from the more standard American diner style, I expected so much more. Since walking into their original restaurant on Fleminggatan in Stockholm earlier this year we left without a welcome or anyone saying hello, long before even getting seated and ordering. I didn’t give it much more thought than that, as it was on their opening day and you want to give peeps a chance. So last time around, we dropped by on a Saturday around lunchtime with hungry bellies looking for a greasy treat and to set us up for the day. This was surely the worse and most dull burger of all of the ones that I have tasted up to now, and one of my burger comrades agree. The burger was unseasoned, the double fried chips nearly uneatable with a mushy chewy wallpaper texture to it and the sauce was just a salty mix of something. Like the Black Eyed Peas sing – Where Is The Love? On the plus side the young friendly service by the young waitresses make you feel welcome. Phils Cheeseburger cost 98SEK, Phils Fries & Sauce cost 35SEK and 29SEK for a 33cl bottle of coke. Phils Burger has a long long way to go to even to be able to compete with existing hamburger outlets in Stockholm. I do not understand all the positive reviews going on about this place, maybe I should go back and give it another shot.


0 STARS SCORE - REVIEW EKEN MAGAZINEPhils Burger - Stockholm Burger Guide + Reviews - Eken Magazine Stockholm Food & Drink Reviews + Listings

PITCHER´S. MARIATORGET. AUGUST 2014 + JULY 2015
I wanted to treat Steven Parker, Eken Magazine guest writer from Manchester for brunch around Mariatorget. After Marie Laveau was full we tried the newly opened British pub themed Pitcher. And lets be honest now, where have they got their thumbs up reviews from, it stuns me! I am thinking probably people without that much dining experience and those thinking McDonalds is a treat out! In true Rafa Benitez fashion, let´s state some facts:
Only one young waitress inside and only one waitress outside for Saturday brunch.
– We had to wait about 15 minutes to even order drinks. To be fair, the waitress did ask for our orders before that, but that was like within seconds after we got the menus. As you would like to see what is on offer before ordering.
– They didn’t have Cappuccino and Latte that was listed, only black coffee, and that was not nice at all. Served in a broken milk jug full of cracks with wine and other dirt stains and as as a bonus, a nice topping of hair.
– They also excused themselves for not having mint for there mint-lemonade, which was one of two fresh drinks on offer. But when serving the coffee, the mint lemonade turned up. Oh yeah, that was after waiting around 20 minutes from ordering.
– After around 30 minutes I asked if everything was going all right with our order, especially after we saw a big group of people coming in much later getting served. The table next to us also asked where their food was. They also got the same faulty answer, that they are very busy, which was not true. Over two thirds of the venue was empty.
– After 55 minutes and with empty mugs and glasses we said to the waitress that we will leave within 5 minutes because it is just out of hand and were actually starving. To wait an hour for a steak sandwich and an Egg Benedict is just pushing it for a place like that with no rush going on. From outta of nowhere we got served within a minute from us saying that. But the then this dining experience took us to a whole new level. My mates Steak Sandwich was as my Egg Benedict cold (but still eatable), the hollandaise spilt with just a yucky taste of fatty oil and vinegar. The bread was hardly panned nor toasted and just seemed to be stuck on a pan for a second leaving it all soggy and cold. After a couple of bites, and really trying to give it a go, it was revolting and left me feeling ill. I had to return it to the kitchen. After a few dirty looks they came to senses and offered me something new from the kitchen, which of course I declined. Then after 10 minutes, they said I don’t have to pay for it. Well, I wasn’t going to either.

I did go back to watch the the football with my mates that already had booked a table leaving me with no option but to return. No real reason to book a table as it was as empty as last time around. The service is nice and friendly and this time the food was much better and I actually really enjoyed the John Daly burger with bacon, cheddar, coleslaw, pickled gherkin and fries for 155SEK. This raises their score from zero to 2. The score could probably be up one star since the last visit but the first experience is still echoing in my head. Read Pitcher´s Burger review here.


pitcher_mariatorget_review_recension_eken_magazine

PRIME BURGER, FOLKUNGAGATAN 122.
SEPTEMBER 2014 + APRIL 2015

One of Stockholms best and most popular burger joints around. Upon arrival around 7pm on a Friday evening in mid September, all outdoor seatings were occupied, but we were very lucky and got a table inside just before the place got slammed full, with lots of people leaving after turning up because they were not up for waiting. And this is no planned Flipping Burger queue system, where they make you wait to look the part, people want in to have a good meal. We enjoyed a really good experience, with our waitress Emma on top of her game with a friendly, quick and aware service. You don´t have to wait long for your food here. We both ordered the Mixed Burger with Pulled Pork, and we shared the fries over with a Nya Carnegie Bryggeri Hammarby Brewery Ale on draught. A bit pricey with the beer at 75kr for a 0.4l glass adds a few kroners to much for our liking. Though that is the trend around town now. With two people eating, a burger each, shared fries, two beers a head plus a tip it leaves you around 600SEK. If they could get that down to below 500kr there on to a real winner.

I went back a few months later expecting a yummy treat to fill my hungry belly up. As I was in the mood for some grease this Saturday morning I chose the Bronco Brunch Burger with bacon, egg, tomato and mayonnaise for 125SEK. I must say I was let down with the burger being unevenly cooked and not the positive tasty experience with great friendly service I enjoyed so very much the time before. Though I am going to try their newly opened restaurant in the city centre and hope they are back on track.


4 STAR REVIEW SCORE - EKEN MAGAZINE

 

Prime Burger Company Stockholm - Stockholm Burger Guide + Reviews - Eken Magazine Stockholm Food & Drink Reviews + Listings

>>> REVIEW: BEST BURGERS IN STOCKHOLM <<<

 

PUB STRINGFELLOWS. TORSGATAN 48. SEPTEMBER 2014
Good located drinking spot in S:t Eriksplan right next to the tube-station with reasonable prices compared to the area. With a couple of food and Happy Hour offers always available, Stringfellows is a good unpretentious drinking hub that attracts lots of by passers, after workers, students and locals. With a various choice and price levels on beer, cider (and whisky) plus a few guest taps, you always will find a good pint for a decent price. Happy Hour prices: Before 7pm: 59SEK / After 7pm:64SEK. 


4 STAR REVIEW SCORE - EKEN MAGAZINE

pub_stringfellows_stockholm_review_recension_eken_magazine

SANGRIA TAPAS BAR. VANADISPLAN.
AUGUST 2014 + FEBRUARY 2015

Great tasty tapas with a good warmly service. The first time around we went for the Chef´s Tasting Menu with loads of heavenly good food and a bottle of good red wine. Second time around we made our own little mix with the result being as fantastic. The best tapas I´ve ate in Stockholm.


5 STARS SCORE REVIEW - Eken Magazine

sangria_tapasbar_stockholm_review_recension_eken_magazine

SHANTI TOUCH OF BENGAL. RÖRSTRANDSGATAN 23. AUGUST 2014 + MARCH 2015
Voted the best curry house in Europe, the chefs at this Bengali/Indian restaurant are amazing at combining flavours and serving really tasty dishes. Leaving you very satisfied and with a good food experience you get treated with good friendly service. Like many other places, put your money on the food and forget the wine to keep a decent price range. If you want do have wine with your dinner, or to include some extras like nan bread, starters or dessert the price range nearly doubles. But you won´t be let down. After many requests from us and I guess many others they have started to serve lunch with some of Bangladesh´s most popular dishes from spring 2015.


4 STAR REVIEW SCORE - EKEN MAGAZINE
Shanti-Touch-of-Bengal-Stockholm-review-recension-ekenmagazine

STHLM TAPAS, TORSGATAN 55. AUGUST 2014
With a high-end friendly international service where the chef´s wave hi from the kitchen and the waiters sit down next to you and talk you through the menu in either Swedish or English. STHLM TAPAS is a top place with a buzz for either your After Work or just for a bite to eat with your partner. With a little twist to their menu, they offer an international tapas mix with influences from Spain, Italy and Sweden. A nice little act was when they did not have gluten bread they picked up on us pointing out that a bread store is around the block, they then “surprised us” and went and bought it especially for our table. Their red house wine Oude Kaap 2013, costing 59SEK for a glass or 235SEKa bottle is a winner! For next time I am hoping on slightly larger portions to go with their prices. p.s. Don´t forget to taste their aioli, it´s amazing!


3 STARS - REVIEW SCORE - EKEN MAGAZINE

sthlm-tapas-vasastan-stockholm-review-recension-eken-magazine

SOLSTUGAN. SNOILSKYVÄGEN 37. AUGUST 2014
I have only visited Solstugan for After Work during the summer, so this review is only based on that. This is a top place to relax with a great view overlooking the water and cliffs while enjoying a cold beer with the sun glazing over you. Built on the cliffs in Fredhäll near Kristineberg and Hornsberg Strand, this wooden building on stilts has panoramic views overlooking several of the small islands that make up the city of Stockholm. Happy Hour beer prices from 55SEK. Loads of live music and fun events all summer long.


4 STAR REVIEW SCORE - EKEN MAGAZINE

solstugan-stockholm-review-recension-eken-magazine

SVARTENGRENS. TULEGATAN 24. OCTOBER 2014
Went for cocktails, but as you entered the lovely smell of meat made you wanna tuck right in to a platter of it. But we left that for next time. Svartengren´s have a really good pleasant service mixed in with some lovely décor, especially the cute bathroom with all its soaps and stuff to go with it. We stayed for three cocktails and one beer. On tap they offer Bitburger beer at 79SEK in a smaller glass plus with a couple more taps on offer, and with one being season based. All Svartengren´s cocktails are named after a fruit or vegetable or at least something eatable. I started with a real sweet and tasty APPLE cocktail called Äpple in Swedish, made of vodka, ice wine, lemon, sugar and soda this is dangerous as you could just gulp this summery refreshing drink in one go. The combination with the ice wine gives you that fresh summer feel drinking lemonade with a straw when young. My partner in action, Jenny Theloin went for HONEY or Honung in Swedish . This one was made of rum, whisky and Fernet Branca., giving you that dark golden honey look with a nice sweet but still dominant classic whisky taste. We then moved on to what we really came for, to find the best Old Fashioned in Stockholm. Served with a huge hand-carved ice cube that nearly takes over the whole glass it was a good straight OF. Nothing more nothing less. Be quick to finish it before the huge titanic ice-berg melts and water downs your cocktail.


3 STARS - REVIEW SCORE - EKEN MAGAZINE

svartengrens-stockholm-review-recension-eken-magazine

TENNSTOPET. DALAGATAN 50. AUGUST 2014
With several classic Swedish dishes on the menu, I usually go for Biff med lök (Beef Steak with Fried Onions) for around 220SEK. Top it off with their own brewed beer – Tennstopets Original and you won´t be let down. A historic Stockholm institute with friendly old fashioned high-end service combined with good outdoor seating overlooking Vasaparken. This traditional and popular restaurant is also a hub for media profiles and for the peeps who want to be seen.


4 STAR REVIEW SCORE - EKEN MAGAZINE

tennstopet-stockholm-review-recension-eken-magazine

THAI HOUSE WOK. BIRKAGATAN 14.
OCTOBER 2014 + JULY 2015

Quick, fresh made thai food for a reasonable price. This chain is growing pretty aggressive all over Stockholm. They use decent quality products, so let´s hope the risk of turning out just to be a money making chain where the quality of food drops doesn’t happen.

Unfortunately my hunch came true and the standard has dropped. I ve been back a few times since and it is not the same standard. The quality of food and the smaller portions are not what they once used to be. Though it doesn´t stop this chain of still popping up everywhere around Stockholm.


3 STARS - REVIEW SCORE - EKEN MAGAZINE

thaihousewok-stockholm-review-recension-eken-magazine

ÖLERIET. KUNGSTENSGATAN 55. AUGUST 2015
This meal and the whole feel to this English inspired Swedish pub brings me right back down memory lane on Match Day. First of all the beer selection is impressive and the food menu with burgers, fish & chips, schnitzel, toast and steaks is what you expect from your neighbourhood pub. All to very fair prices. Focusing mainly on Swedish quality craft beers with a friendly service this is a chilled place to hangout at with your mates, date or co-workers. I chose the Mexican burger and as all of their burgers they are served with fries, a red cabbage coleslaw and a tasty herb-sauce with a corn on the cob. I enjoyed it and it sure did fill me up, and all for 139SEK. You can also choose if you want your burger bun gluten-free. The burger and fries with fried onion reminds me of the traditional beef burgers with fried onion in a bun that are served around the football grounds of England.


4 STAR REVIEW SCORE - EKEN MAGAZINE

öleriet_review_recension_eken_magazine

>>> REVIEW: BEST BURGERS IN STOCKHOLM <<<

 



BY PETER A ELDON